… And a Happy New Year?

nyeSo, here’s the thing: I don’t really like trilogies at the moment. Or duologies. Or series of any length really. I haven’t read a full series of books since I was in university and I was devouring The Hunger Games in the back row of a Critical Theory lecture. But despite my current feelings of hesitation towards emotionally investing in a long series of books, I’m here to shout about the one trilogy I did read this year and why you should read it too.

I’m talking, of course, about the Spinster Club series by Holly Bourne. Comprised of three books, Am I Normal Yet? (#1), How Hard Can Love Be? (#2) and What’s a Girl Gotta Do? (#3), the Spinster Club series follows Evie, Amber and Lottie, three young girls attending college in the UK, as they navigate an array of trials and tribulations. Each book focuses on a different character, delving deeper into their lives and personalities, whilst tackling some pretty important subject matter. For example, the first novel in the series, Am I Normal Yet?, follows Evie who is just trying to keep it together, juggling starting a new sixth form college with recovering from a mental illness. It’s such a sad, inspiring read, that portrays mental illness in an honest and heartbreaking way. It also perfectly introduces our cast of strong and intelligent female characters that lead the series and build the Spinster Club (later known as FemSoc), an outlet for their feminist musings – and an opportunity to eat an abundance of chocolate and cheese.

The rest of the novels also focus on some interesting topics, touching on family problems, first loves and standing up for what you believe in – even if others want to pull you back down. But overall, the Spinster Club series is about love, friendship, feminism (!) and it makes my heart happy. It is an exceptional set of YA novels and I just want everyone to read them. The best part about the series is that it’s finished, so you won’t have to spend hours tearing your hair out waiting for the next installment. Plus! Holly Bourne recently released a final, special novel to round off the series, … And a Happy New Year?, which features all three girls equally and ties up their stories very nicely. Set, as you might expect, on New Years’ Eve, it’s time to say goodbye to the Spinsters.

As it’s New Years’ Eve tonight, I thought this would be a great opportunity for me to chat about these books and show off my copy of … And a Happy New Year? It’s the only one of the series I actually physically own, opting to read the others on my Kindle, and I think it’s the best one to own by far. The cover design, the colours used and the gold foiling makes the book look and feel like a gorgeous, glittering gift. It’s going to be the perfect addition to my bookshelf, and (I’m hoping) maybe it will serve as a good luck charm to make 2017 a very happy year indeed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

